Review | Estée Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Foundation

facebook logo png transparent background 45 px

pinterest button transparent 45px

Twitter-Button-transparent 45px

Google + transparent button 45px

I first heard about his foundation, probably two years ago when a favourite youtuber of mine recommended it for coverage. Recently, I finally got myself a sample and then purchased the bottle. This foundation makes some pretty impressive claims:

  • Lasts 15 hours (even in high humidity)
  • Non-transferable
  • Oil-free
  • Non-acnegenic
  • Dermatologist and Opthamologist-tested

Well, this could not have been any better a time of year to see if this foundation lives up to everything it claims to be. It’s been really hot and humid here in England recently so, let’s get started!

20150715cats_002

The stay power is absolutely amazing. One day, I put it on in the early morning (say 7am) and it literally lasted to the point I removed my makeup at around 11pm, that’s past 15 hours! And I have really oily skin, guys. But this foundation with its own power, keeps the oil down so I only have to blot my skin about 3 times throughout a really long day.

The stay power is so amazing but that also means it’s really difficult to take off at the end of the day and I have to include some extra cleansing steps in my skin care routine to be extra sure I didn’t go to bed with any pf it still on. So, be careful about that.

It is definitely non-transferable. I did a few tests throughout a long day where I tested if the foundation would come off onto a white tissue but it didn’t! So you don’t even need any powder for it to stay in place as it stays in place all on its own.

When first applying, it has a wonderfully velvety feel to its application which makes it so matte which is great for those like me who have oily skin. And within a few minutes, it dries and sets. So if you want to blend it, you have to work quickly because as the title ‘Stay-in-Place’ suggests, it will not budge once it has dried and trying to blend it will only cause streaks, so I suggest you leave it alone. Also blend it down onto your neck because like I mentioned before in certain lighting and especially when taking pictures it may not be the perfect match to your skin.

The shade that the lady at the Estée Lauder counter applied to my skin looked great overall. I looked in the mirror of a public toilet afterwards and it still looked great. I think maybe there’s something about the lighting in the Birmingham Bullring that makes your makeup look really good. When I went to apply the foundation another day when I was going out, it looked fine in just average lighting and bright lighting but it looked too light for my skin tone in dark lighting and that looked really odd because of how far I had applied it. I think what I need to do is bring the foundation down further on my neck, so it looks more natural. However, after about an hour, I found that it naturally blended into my skin tone and looked really natural, so I’m thankful for that. I was matched to be Sandalwood 6W1 by the way.

What’s great about this foundation is that when on your face, it feels so light and the consistency is really liquid-y so I think that has something to do with it as it’s nothing like a cream foundation. The coverage, I find, is medium. I put a small amount of foundation all over my face and then a bit more on my cheeks because I have acne scaring there. And I find that it’s very buildable but also great coverage just by one thin layer, so I recommend you don’t apply too much otherwise it won’t look natural.

20150714_234344cropped
I took this at the end of the day I wore this foundation for 15+ hours to show how shiny my face was at the end of the day. Not the best lighting but it shows I did not lose the coverage one bit.

20150715cats_003

One thing that is not too great about the packaging of this foundation is that it doesn’t have a pump. Some find this really annoying but I think it’s workable. However, I know that MAC have a foundation pump so I might just check that out.

Overall verdict:

Pros:

  • Stays in place
  • Doesn’t transfer on to clothes
  • Light-weight feel
  • Really good coverage
  • Mattifying

Cons:

  • Difficult to find perfect skin tone match
  • Packaging doesn’t have a pump

Overall, considering everything, I can honestly say this is the best foundation, I have tried. I highly recommend it to anyone with oily skin. It’s definitely something to save up for and get because it is a really good foundation that is oil free, has great coverage, its dermatologist tested and will not clog your pores. So overall great quality.

You can get your hands on it right here!: http://amzn.to/2wndQBw

Rating: 4/5

pcoA6eoKi

Leave a comment to tell me what you thought of this post!

And for more beauty reviews and skin care tips be sure to FOLLOW ME here and on my social networks!

Twitter: @epiphanylw

Instagram: @epiphanylikewhite

Facebook: @elwskincare

Bloglovin’

facebook logo png transparent background 45 px

pinterest button transparent 45px

Twitter-Button-transparent 45px

Google + transparent button 45px

5 thoughts on “Review | Estée Lauder Double Wear Stay-in-Place Foundation

Leave a Reply

